• You are here:
  • Home
  • >Blog
  • >1983/84 WINNERS - Northern Bank Ulster Minor Club Tournament

1983/84 WINNERS - Northern Bank Ulster Minor Club Tournament

20th Nov 2010

Saul win Cup

Co Down club Saul won the second running of the competition after beating Lisnaskea in a Final which required 30 minutes of extra-time. The teams finished level at eight points each at the end of normal time but a cracking goal from Seamus Fitzsimons saw Saul pull away to win by a clear margin, 1-15 to 0-9. 

Captain Eddie Harney lifted the trophy which was the first to be played for in the GAA's Centenary Year. Collie Curran stood out for the losers who fielded with 14-year-old Tony Teague in their full-back line. 

Saul: Martin Farrell, Gareth Fitzsimons, Jerome McGrady, John Thompson, Mark Hamill, Eddie Harney 0-1, Patrick Polly, Owen Curran 0-2, Roy Cheetham 0-1, Seamus Fitzsimons 1-3, Eamon Fitzsimons, Pascal Fitzpatrick 0-2, Martin, Thomas Curran 0-1, Jarlath O'Connor. Subs: Ian Clarke 0-4, Kevin Fitzpatrick 0-1.

Lisnaskea: Peter McCormack, Brian Charter, Damian, Tony Teague, John, Liam Maguire, Niall, Collie Curran (c) 0-5, Brian McCreesh 0-2, Eamon Shannon 0-1, Nickey Keenan 0-1, Eugene McElroy, Donal Jackman, Damian Reilly, Rory Mulligan. Sub: C McCormack for Mulligan.

Ref: John Gough


November 1982 - 'New contest for minors'

A story appears in the Irish News announcing the new idea and inviting county champions to contact Brian Coyle at St Paul's. The Belfast club had already signed up Glenullin and Scotstown for the competition. Coyle suggested having two sections so that the teams in West Ulster and East Ulster could play-off for a Final. Within a few weeks, 8 out of 9 county champions had responded positively to the appeal and the draw was made for the games to begin. 


St Paul's 3-6 Newry Shamrocks 2-8 (aet)

Gleunllin 2-8 Pearse Og 2-7 (aet)

Enniskillen Gaels 1-4 Kingscourt 0-4, at Enniskillen

Scotstown 2-2 Coalisland 0-3, at Monaghan

Host goalkeeper Stephen McPeake saved his team against Newry Shamrocks with a superb save just minutes from the end of normal time. A Sean Mackin goal then saw St Paul's through, while Declan McNicholl scored 1-3 for Glenullin as they eventually overcame Pearse Og. D.Love scored the only goal for the Fermanagh champions while Scotstown's goals came from G.McGarry and B.Sherry. 


St Paul's 2-5 Glenullin 2-4, at Shaw's Road

Scotstown 2-4 Enniskillen Gaels 1-5, at Enniskillen

Referee John Gough was busy in the Belfast game as St Paul's battled back from a half-time deficit of 2-2 to 0-1 to qualify for the Final. Declan Connolly scored the winning goal near the end of the contest. 

FINAL - January 1, 1983 - St Paul's 2-9 Scotstown 2-4

Brothers Aidan and Fergus Donnelly starred for the first champions, Sean Mohan scored a brilliant goal from distance, Donagh Finnegan and Marty Kerr shored up midfield, and substitute Sean McKenna finished the job with a second goal. 

St Paul's - M Peake, M Feeney, S Carville, A Rogan, G Powers, Stephen Mulvenna, J Quinn, Donagh Finnegan 0-1, Marty Kerr 0-1, Aidan Donnelly 0-3, Sean Mohan 1-1, M McErlean 0-1, Fergus Donnelly 0-1, J Cormican, Declan Connolly 0-1. Sub: Sean McKenna 1-0 for Cormican. 

Scotstown - Dominic McPhillips, D Mohan, S Carroll, B McKenna, Kevin McCarry, B Boylan, G McGurk, P McCarville 1-0, Brendan Murray 0-5, J Moyna, Hugh McCague, Pat Carroll, B Sherry, D Connolly, Kevin Keenan 1-0. 

Ref: John Gough


Northern Bank Ulster Minor Club Tournament

County Roll of Honour

Derry - 11

Tyrone - 4

Armagh, Donegal - 3

Antrim, Down - 2

Cavan, Fermanagh, Monaghan - 1

Club Roll of Honour

Ballinderry - 4

Bellaghy, Killybegs, Loup, St Pauls - 2


Derry enjoyed a 5 in-a-row in the 1990s. Derry and Tyrone have shared the trophy since 2005. Crossmaglen have never won it. Tyrone have had four single winners - Dungannon, Coalisland, Errigal Ciaran and Omagh. Coalisland's MoM and captain was Brian Toner who starred on the team that won the 2010 Tyrone SFC. 

Armagh's three winners are Killeavy (1987), Pearse Og (2000) and Armagh Harps (2003). Donegal's two winners are Killybegs and Ballyshannon but they haven't won it since 1992. Down's two winners have been Rostrevor in 2004 and Saul in 1983.  Fermanagh's only winner was Enniskillen. Cavan Gaels won in 1999, Monaghan won with Clontibret in 2002, and host county Antrim have won twice. 

More stats to follow. Feel free to send your own information, memories and photographs from past Tournaments. 





Related Link